Confirmed

No, I haven’t suddenly become a Christian or anything – but I found out today that my PhD was confirmed. It’s been a bit of a nerve-wracking week. I had to give a 25 minute presentation to the department on my topic. Somehow giving a talk to friends and colleagues is a very scary prospect, probably because I really do care what they think – if it was a bunch of strangers, I don’t think I’d care so much. But amazingly enough, it all went fine. Then today, I had to face a committee to talk about my progress to date (I’m about half way through). It was actually tremendously useful to get some different points of view about approaches I could take. Whew! Now I can actually sit back and relax for five seconds – the last three weeks have been crazy.

5 Comments

Filed under academia, Personal, universities

5 responses to “Confirmed

  1. Megan

    That’s fantastic. And halfway through already… you work fast!

  2. Half way through the allocated time…unfortunately not half written…!!! I guess that’s the way of PhDs – it should all fall into place at the end? Shouldn’t it?! (humour me, please).

Leave a comment