Earliest memory meme

Lad Litter has tagged me for the earliest memory meme.

My earliest memory is of a man with crinkly brown skin and sparkly brown eyes sitting on a giant tortoise. Seriously.

I was two and a half years old, and my family had just been seconded to the UK for a few years (for the first time). We had a stop over in Mauritius for some reason (I think planes had to stop more frequently in those days). That’s where I saw the man sitting on the tortoise.

The other week I saw a photo of the aforesaid tortoise and man, taken by my Dad. The perspective is totally different to my memory. In my memory, the man looms hugely over me, and the tortoise was as big as a car. But in the photo, they appear quite small, and the enclosure looks smaller and drabber than I remember. Memory is a funny thing, isn’t it?

Other early memories: my Dad skiing down our street in England, my third birthday party (balloons with butterflies on them, no less), walking in the park and seeing bluebells with my Mum, seeing my sister for the first time and naughtily touching her eyelid (even though the nurse said not to touch her) and being the sheep in the Advent play at Kinder. I turned down the role of Mary to be a sheep. Who wants to just sit there and hold a doll when you can walk around on all fours baa-ing loudly, with your sister’s old sheepskin tied to you, and pretending to eat the carpet? It’s a no brainer.

5 Comments

Filed under Personal

5 responses to “Earliest memory meme

  1. Photos have the nerve to be different from your recollections so often! Although sometimes, the video of footy matches you’ve been to is better than the game you remember. Couch potato bonus! And I believe you chose wisely in opting for the meatier character role in the nativity play. Who’d want to play a virgin outside the privacy of their own home?

  2. mrlefty

    “Who wants to just sit there and hold a doll when you can walk around on all fours baa-ing loudly, with your sister’s old sheepskin tied to you, and pretending to eat the carpet? It’s a no brainer.”

    That made me smile.

  3. 🙂 My Mum is still embarrassed. Apparently my best friend and I stole the show! The sheep were elevated to a whole new level of significance…

  4. Y’know, you are supposed to tag five others to continue the spread of the meme 😉

  5. Ha ha! For that I’m going to tag YOU!

    Never got around to the tagging – I think I’ve only just recovered from exam marking now…hence the resumption of normal blogging practices.

Leave a Reply

