I want to be a hobbit

When I was in Grade 2, we had to write down what we wanted to be when we grew up. I wrote something to the effect that I wanted to be a hobbit, and if I couldn’t achieve that, I’d like to be a fairy with wings. There was nothing about being a lawyer. I don’t think I even knew what one was.

I first read Lord of the Rings when I was 7 years old, with my father. Since then I don’t know how many times I’ve reread it. Say 50 times? Seriously. Once I read the whole thing in 2 days, when I was 10 years old. That messes with your mind a bit. However, I couldn’t find Book 1 (The Fellowship of the Ring) after I moved out of home, so I hadn’t read it for about 5 years. I think that must be a record for me.

Fortunately, I found Book 1 again the other day, and I’ve started re-reading the whole lot yet again. I do enjoy it. I haven’t grown up to be a hobbit, although I do like mushrooms, and have three cookbooks devoted to the topic.

I’m looking forward to re-reading Lord of the Rings aloud with my daughter. Of course I’ll have to wait until she’s ready. Only another 5 and a half years to go.

7 Comments

Filed under books

7 responses to “I want to be a hobbit

  1. Is it ever too early to start? I remember watching the Wizard of Oz as a 2 year old. The Wicked Witch/Miss Gulch terrified me, but boy, did I love that film.

  2. Oh, that’s sweet.

    I used to want to be a phoenix, and failing that, a dryad.

    Don’t know how I ended up a lawyer.

  3. I wanted to be a private detective. Until I was about 27! I was all over the Narnia Chronicles in primary school but missed the Lord of the Rings cycle. The Peter Jackson films seem to have really pleased devotees of the book (is this true in your case?) – a rare thing for film adaptations of cultish material.

  4. pete m

    Books were great. The films were an awesome adaptation.

    I decided on law when around 10 years old. Weird story is a neighbour of ours when I was born came over and looked at me and told my mum I’d be a lawyer – she never told me this story until after I’d chosen what I wanted to do. Things like that freak me out!

  5. GavinM

    Probably my all-time favourite book…I read it to my wife, (as I said in a previous post on this site, she’s Thai and doesn’t read much English), and she loves it too…I’ve read it to my kids (16, 12 & 7), and they also love it — just a great story and brilliantly written.

    I wanted to be a pilot when I was young…never quite got there, but managed to jump out of a lot of planes when I was in the Legion…

  6. LE, this reply will reveal my age! I wanted to be Simon Templar aka the Saint!

    My brother went further. He and a friend went of to the Bank of NSW and opened accounts in the name of Simon Templar and Sebastian Tombs respectively. They were recognised, and my father was summoned to the Bank to deal with the matter!

  7. The Blonde Canadian: My sister was terrified by The Wiz, the adaption of The Wizard of Oz with Michael Jackson in it. I can’t remember what precisely scared her so much, but she did run away crying.

    Oanh: How did we end up as lawyers then? My grandmother tells me she always wanted to be a mermaid or live under the sea…she’s over 80 now, hasn’t happened yet. The funny thing is that she’s never liked putting her head under the water when she swims!

    Lad Litter: I loved the movies, although on reading the books, I still think they’re better. But yes, it was that rare phenomenon – a film adaptation that fans of the book actually liked. I think it was the fact that the films included all the important details, yet didn’t slavishly follow the books in a boring manner (eg, first Harry Potter film, can’t even remember what it’s called).

    Mum thinks she’d be a good private detective – I think she would too – she never lets go until she has an answer…

    PeteM: When I went back to my old high school and told them I’d become a lawyer they said “WHAT?!?” I don’t know what they thought I’d become. Anyway, it surprises people who meet me without knowing my profession. No idea why. Perhaps it’s the fact that I’m a bit whacky – but aren’t many lawyers slightly eccentric?

    GavinM: I love the fact that I’m not the only one who reads LOTR aloud with my family. Yep, it’s probably my all-time favourite too. Even after 50 reads. If you still love it after that, it has to be good.

    Jim: I did laugh. My sister and I contemplated giving ourselves various fantasy character names, but never actually went and got a bank account! I was considering giving my daughter the middle name of “Beruthiel”, but didn’t want to burden the poor kid.

Leave a Reply

