How do I get the time?

I was just speaking to my dear Grandma (with my dear Grandpa making comments in the background). She asked, “How do you get the time to do this blogging thing?” I was just delighted that she and my Grandpa read my blog. What awesome grandparents they are.

Jim Belshaw noticed that my post last night was at 12:57am. That’s part of how I manage to blog – I’m a bit of an insomniac – and I work much better late at night. I always have plans of getting up early and doing thesis, but my brain just doesn’t work that way. I also just fit in little tidbits when I can, here and there.

I was particularly awake last night because we’d just attended the wedding of my brother-in-law. It was a beautiful occasion, and everything went really well. The Melbourne weather was looking a bit threatening, but it didn’t rain during the ceremony. The bride looked just beautiful (someone commented that she looked like Belle from the Disney film Beauty and the Beast – a wide smile, dark curls, yellow dress). Both the bride and groom couldn’t stop smiling. It was quite an emotional wedding, as the bride’s parents and sisters had travelled all the way from Brazil to be there.

I was MC for the reception. My rather ambitious plan was to introduce everybody in Portuguese and English so that everyone knew what was happening (Brazilians and Australians). “I didn’t know you spoke Portuguese, Legal Eagle!” I hear you exclaim. Well, I don’t, actually… I photocopied various phrases from a phrasebook and attempted to read them out (with a few phonetic notes beside difficult words). To wit:

Olá para todos. Para quem não me conhece, eu sou [Legal Eagle] a cunhada de [Noivo] e [Noiva]. Peço desculpas pelo meu português. Hoje eu serei a ceremonialista.

Translation:

Good evening everybody. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m [Legal Eagle], the sister-in-law of [Groom] and [Bride]. Please excuse my Portuguese. Tonight I will be your MC.

My sister-in-law helped me with the pronunciation. I hope that it was comprehensible: at least, people seemed to get the gist! I was amazed to notice that my high school French really helped in getting the hang of it – I hadn’t realised that any of that had “stuck”. My forte was always Japanese rather than French.

Which reminds me of a conversation with a French exchange student. She asked, “How can I get rid of this French accent?” We all assured her that we loved her French accent and thought it was “cute”. She stuck out her lower lip. She didn’t want to be cute. Probably I had a crazy Australian accent when attempting Portuguese, but never mind, it would have been “cute”, even though, like the French exchange student, I didn’t want to be cute.

Anyway, that is why I was up at midnight. I had two cups of coffee half way through the wedding so I’d be bright and sparkly, and then I couldn’t get to sleep when I got home. I also had Portuguese running through my head – I think I was too “wired” to get to sleep. So I decided to “vent” about citizenship tests, apropos of having nothing better to do at midnight. The girl and the hubby were already fast asleep, being sensible human beings. That’s how I get the time…I’m not a sensible human being.

3 Comments

Filed under blogging

3 responses to “How do I get the time?

  1. My blogging time is the couple of hours before dawn as I am an early riser ( sciatica is a very effective alarm ) and I have come to love the sunrise through my front window.
    But the thing about blogging is that you vent as you please when you please and if after venting you don’t like it there is always the delete button.
    Cheers

  2. Again I liked this post, LE. As I said, I am a bit like Iain and for similar reasons. Iain, glad to see that this blog made blog of the month.

  3. Lol

    not a sensible human being either. 😉 but you know this. just stopping by to send my love and to say that i miss you! glad the wedding went well. hope the girl flirted with everyone! x

Leave a Reply

