It’s all a big con…

Yesterday evening, we had the television on in the background when a show called “Con” came on at 11pm (Channel 7). I think it was the first episode of the series.

The premise of the show is this: Skyler Stone is a con artist who shows people how to rip off businesses and people. He gets a free burger by pretending to have food allergies (which really gives me the pip as someone who genuinely suffers from severe food allergies) and manages to convince a ski resort that he and two friends are part of a boy band and need the entire slope closed down.

I only lasted 5 minutes: I couldn’t watch past the bit where Skyler got the free burger. My husband lasted about 15 minutes more, and said that part of the con involved this guy pretending that he was getting over some debilitating disease. Then he had to stop watching because he couldn’t stand it any more either.

I found this show repugnant and immoral. Perhaps it’s because I want to believe the best of everyone, which is exactly what this guy plays on. Perhaps it’s because I see it as essentially stealing from these businesses: stealing their products, time and effort. Perhaps it’s because Skyler Stone is a total TOOL. I’m pleased to say that most of the comments on IMDb are anti-Con – it has an average score of 1.8 out of 10 stars.

Maybe I’m getting old and cranky…but I really wonder what the world is coming to when people think stuff like that is amusing. It’s a step further down the rung from reality television… reality crime. What’s next? Reality war? I don’t even want to joke about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under society, television

Leave a Reply

