AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!

I do not like clowns. Not at all. My hands are all sweaty as I type. I believe it’s hereditary – various members of my family also dislike clowns intensely too. When my mother was little, her grandparents beggared themselves to buy her a ticket to the circus, but my mother ran out after two acts because the clowns were hitting each other. I refused a Chocolate Paddle Pop from the “Peters Clown” once at age 5. Things are serious if I refuse an offer of free food (particularly an offer of free chocolatey food).

I believe I’m not alone in my coulrophobia. Terry Pratchett, for one, obviously believes in the evil power of clowns (the worst of which is the white faced clown). His Patrician reserves special punishment for mine artists.

There is a particularly hideous photo from The Age featuring Peter Costello and a mime-clown hybrid. Mr Costello was apparently opening the new centre for the National Institute of Circus Arts. You mean my money is paying for more of these nasty beasts to be trained???

TimT at Will Type for Food has some funny captions which lessen the horror. Somewhat. I still feel sick.

(Via Tim Blair)

6 Comments

Filed under clowns, crazy stuff

6 responses to “AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!

  1. TimT

    It’s a pity Tim (Blair) doesn’t do more posts like that, I remember the good old days of Spleenville or Blogspot when posts like that were the rule, and not the exception to the rule.

  2. denn

    I agree wholeheartedly with Legal Eagle, I too don’t like clowns especially the weird ones with large red misshapen proboscises. And the creepy one in the pic (possibly during a more lucid sobering moment)looks especially demonic.
    Any wonder the ashen faced lad behind him is looking furtive…And who wouldn’t?.

  3. Legal Eagle

    Good call, Denn! 😉

  4. Paul

    Clowns are pure evil.

    Have you seen that Seinfeld with the crazy guy dressed as a clown harassing Kramer?

    Crazy Joe Davola: So… are you still scared of clowns?

    Kramer: Yeah…

    I would be more in favour of a National Institute for the Eradication of Clowns, in fact.

  5. Legal Eagle

    My husband was reminding me of that episode of Seinfeld, but I’ve never been able to watch it fully…too horrific.

  6. Pingback: Clowns sicken young patients « The Legal Soapbox

Leave a Reply

