Books

The lovely miss v has started a blog of her own. Her recent post on books inspired me to finish a book I had borrowed from her a couple of months back. After a search, I found it under the lounge. I think my little girl had pushed it under there.

Anyway, the book I have now finally finished was a very interesting book called Nine Parts of Desire, by Geraldine Brooks, a Australian-American journalist who covered the Middle East for six years for The Wall Street Journal. It is an account of Brooks’ attempts to get to know Muslim women during the time that she lived there.

I found it to be a compassionate and balanced portrayal, but one that did not try to gloss over difficult questions. It provided an interesting insight into the Qu’ran, and the different roles and traditions within Islam. I would say it was well worth a read.

6 Comments

Filed under blogs, books, islam

6 responses to “Books

  1. Law Student

    I did a book review on the book back in 2004.

  2. Legal Eagle

    What did you think? I’d be very interested to hear what your thoughts were. I was wondering how Muslims perceive the book, and whether average Australian Muslims would think it was fair and balanced?

    I must ask my childhood friend (who is Muslim) whether she has read it – she has mentioned reading something that sounds similar, but I can’t remember what it was.

  3. Law Student

    To be honest, i read this three years ago and i really can’t remember whether it was fair and balanced.

  4. missv

    Thanks Legal Eagle! I’m glad you enjoyed Nine Parts of Desire, like you, I thought it offered a good balance.

  5. missv

    Thanks Legal Eagle! I’m glad you enjoyed the book. I also thought that it offered a balance view.

  6. Laura Reece

    Hi LE, just browsing your blog and came across this entry – I read Nine Parts of Desire a few years ago and ended up losing my copy in a flurry of lending it to friends I thought would enjoy it. I loved the perspective Geraldine Brooks brought to that oft commented on, but rarely satisfactorily explored issue of the experience of women in Islamic countries. I felt that her time in the Middle East as a journo gave her a sort of legitimacy that most commentators don’t have – her own experiences and those of her friends and colleagues. I think the point that has really stuck with me in the years since I read the book is that, as in any country, religious or secular, the experience of women is varied, complex and often troubling.
    I really enjoy reading your blog and hope you keep it up.

Leave a Reply

