I’m not the only one with a problem with Powerpoint

You may recall that I had a rant or two about this topic a while back. A gentle reader has pointed out it was a recent topic in Leon Gettler’s blog in The Age.

The good news is that, this year, the other lecturers teaching with me share my antipathy, and indeed before I was even allocated to teach this subject, they had agreed that there shall be no Powerpoint slides. The only sad thing is that I used to enjoy putting my own strange artwork at the start of my powerpoint presentations, for no particular reason other than my own enjoyment. Now I will just have to draw strange pictures on the whiteboard instead. And read out quotations from judgments in silly accents. The things I do to amuse myself.

2 Comments

Filed under academia, powerpoint

2 responses to “I’m not the only one with a problem with Powerpoint

  1. Iain Hall

    http://iainhall.wordpress.com/2007/02/04/timber-and-stone-redux/

    My daughter plays around with powerpoint on her computer and she just loves some of the sound effects as the slides change…

    The link above is to a post just for you so I hope you like it :o)

  2. John Flood

    Edward Tufte who generally writes about the bad presentation of statistics has written a lovely little article for Wired on the evils of powerpoint when in the wrong hands, which is usual. Wired article here: http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/11.09/ppt2.html

Leave a Reply

