Carnivorous pelicans…

As I have said in an earlier post, I can’t help being fascinated by freaky and horrible stories. Warning, this story may contain images which are disturbing to pigeon fanciers.

A pelican in St James’ Park, London, carried a pigeon around in its beak for 20 minutes before swallowing it alive.

Puts a whole new spin on that limerick…

A wonderful bird is the pelican,
His mouth can hold more than his bellican,
He can hold in his beak,
Enough food for a week!
I’m damned if I know how the helican!

Attributed to Dixon Lanier Merritt, a newspaper editor and President of the American Press Humorists Association.

5 Comments

Filed under crazy stuff, pelicans

5 responses to “Carnivorous pelicans…

  1. HVB

    I’m sorry, but I find that so hilarious, I can’t stop laughing – does that make me a sick person??

  2. Legal Eagle

    Well, yes, it probably does, but you are in the best of company (ie, MY company). I couldn’t stop laughing either. If pigeons were slightly nicer (and not “flying vermin”) I might feel more sorry for them…

  3. Legal Eagle

    My mother now tells me that there’s a video of the pelican swallowing the pigeon. She said it made her feel sick. We both wondered if anyone tried to save the pigeon?

  4. Anonymous

    Actually pigeon is considered quite good eating if cooked right :o)
    But really it is a part of life that some creatures eat others and perhaps the squeamishness comes from empathy with the prey rather than celebrating the predators. Where I live I occasionally see the harsher aspects of nature but I bet most of the people in the city have never seen the animals that they eat actually slaughtered and their flesh prepared for consumption. It is a humbling experience that more would benefit from.

    LE can I suggest that as you moderate the comments anyway that you do not need the word verification It is a pain and I have given up on it at mine :o)

  5. Legal Eagle

    For some reason, Iain, you’ve come out as “anonymous”. Thanks for the tip – I have amended my comment settings.

    I must confess that I have actually eaten pigeon (with spicy salt and chilli). It wasn’t bad, but I prefer quail, it’s a bit more tender.

Leave a Reply

